My suggestions for NESmaker

erockbrox
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:40 am

Re: My suggestions for NESmaker

Post by erockbrox » Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:14 pm

18) So I'm watching the pi beta 6 tutorial and following along. At one point you talk about in the HUD that when you click SET NUMBERS and click SET LETTERS that you need to click on the 0 (zero) and A (letter) to set them. The issue I have here is that this is NOT stated anywhere in NESmaker when you actually click on these. In other words you need to have this "extra info" and key insight on how NESmaker works an order to use this. If you could, you could write out some simple instructions in NESmaker so that when you do click on the SET NUMBERS button it then says "pick the tile that has a zero in it" and "click the tile which has the A in it". It would make it a little more intuitive and self explanatory. For example, if I just clicked SET NUMBERS without knowing that I need to select the Zero I would have no idea what to do, but if there was a hint that was displayed then it would make sense.

19) So I'm watching the pi beta tutorials/videos and trying to follow them and learn from them. Since I am only a May beta tester I naturally started with the pi beta videos. I didn't want to start with the beta 1 videos because the program has changed since then. But anyway, so I watched all of the videos for the pi beta except the 3 hour simple platform game, and well I don't have a game up and running yet. I don't know how to create a start screen and saw no video in the pi beta videos section which described this.

20) One thing that kind of makes me uneasy is the idea that the beta assets can only be used for testing purposes and not sold commercially? Like I just don't get this idea. It's like here's a game engine go and create stuff but you can't have it in your actual game. The way I see beta assets is that you could create your final game with them, but since everyone would know that they were the beta assets then you by choice wouldn't want to use them because it would make your game look unoriginal. I just don't like the idea of getting a program and then having someone say that there are restrictions on what I can do with it. Was the money that we raised in the kickstarter not enough to hire an artist to make some assets that are free to use???
User avatar
TheNew8bitHeroes
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:24 pm
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: My suggestions for NESmaker

Post by TheNew8bitHeroes » Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:59 am

As for the beta assets - don't think of the beta assets as "coming with the program". I'm personally creating them because you need SOMETHING in order to work through the tutorials. The purpose is that a user creates ALL original assets that he or she has the expressed rights to use. The 'beta assets' (as far as graphics and music) only exist as placeholders. If it makes you feel better, for the exact same result, download some legend of zelda graphics to work through the tutorials with, knowing that in the end you have to change them. It's the same thing. They're graphics that you didn't create, therefor you don't have the legal right to make something commercial with them.

If you want to avoid this altogether, create your own graphics from the start, or have an artist you know create graphics/music for you and give you permission to use them before you even get started.

I am working on a new ground-up tutorial set with a few tiny tweaks to the engine that will hopefully help people in your position get up and running a bit quicker, by giving more explanation as it goes, explaining things a bit deeper, and making the user write in a little code so that he or she understands it, and then showing where one can access full code and where he or she can put it to make it work. I'm hoping this gives new users better command over what NESmaker is actually doing and how it works.
User avatar
functionalform
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: My suggestions for NESmaker

Post by functionalform » Sat Jun 23, 2018 1:33 am

yup, if you click your day palettes to switch them to night and click again to go back to day,
you never see the gradient effect again.
User avatar
functionalform
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: My suggestions for NESmaker

Post by functionalform » Sat Jun 23, 2018 1:48 am

i think the confusion around assets is how it's phrased in the kickstarter page.

"Will NESmaker include art assets for me to use to get started right away?
Yes, we will absolutely include art assets for you to get started with, modify and use however you want."

and then the troll burner expansion including a full suite of assets.

even i thought the stuff was ok to use, but obviously as a point of pride to replace it with self made stuff.
but i can see where users not as comfortable with the art end wanting to use premade assets like rpgmaker for example.

maybe for release just fill the assets folder with community stuff that everyone donates with the correct creative commons?
User avatar
TheNew8bitHeroes
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:24 pm
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: My suggestions for NESmaker

Post by TheNew8bitHeroes » Sat Jun 23, 2018 2:01 am

functionalform - great idea for the actual release. :-)
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 508
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am

Re: My suggestions for NESmaker

Post by dale_coop » Sat Jun 23, 2018 7:39 am

Great ideas, a lot of CC assets, a lot of scripts, hours/days.../years of fun!
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
User avatar
MistSonata
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:10 am

Re: My suggestions for NESmaker

Post by MistSonata » Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:15 am

Just wanted to jot this down here while I'm thinking of it.

Currently the system has it so that if you want to change the name of a script you've customized, you have to remember which one it is and go into the Project Labels to change it manually (which I think could lead to human error, mislabeling things, having to recheck everything to make sure it has the right name, etc).
What if the tool took the name from the script itself? This wouldn't be applicable to EVERYthing, mind you, and it wouldn't have to be hardwired into the program, but it'd be nice to have a button that's like "Get Project Labels From Scripts" and then it'll check the first line in the scripts and look for whatever signifier means "this is the name of this script", like ";;; NAME:DoSpookyStuff" or something similar.
User avatar
TheNew8bitHeroes
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:24 pm
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: My suggestions for NESmaker

Post by TheNew8bitHeroes » Mon Jun 25, 2018 3:51 pm

We thought of doing some similar things with in-script naming conventions...for instance, looking for ;;arg0: xxxxxx and then exposing arg0, that sort of thing. Not sure where we landed on that. Possible we might try and implement things like that, but a lower priority. :-)
erockbrox
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:40 am

Re: My suggestions for NESmaker

Post by erockbrox » Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:33 am

21) I think this was a bug, but I'm currently working with the latest beta with the latest new tutorials on vimeo and I was editing the players graphics or gameobjecttiles file and after saving, NESmaker never asked me if I wanted to reload the graphics. This was an issue because I was then trying to make my player animated and the graphics changes never took effect. A simple close and restart of the NESmaker program fixed this.

22) In the graphics banks index inside NESmaker, it says graphics banks 0, 1, 2, 3. The 1-3 have little plus signs on them so bank 0 must be different, however out of all of the tutorials I've watched, I've haven't heard the explanation on why bank 0 is different.

23) One thing that kind of feels odd is when I'm creating assets, in the upper right-ish part of the program you get to see all of the graphics in your yychr file or graphics file. When you click on a palette ALL of the graphics in that file change to that palette, this makes them look odd. It would be nice if in that small black box that it retains the specific color palette which you choose just for better visual appearance.

24) When setting up the animation frames for the player, there is a RED BOX which is an 8x8 tile which allows you to piece together your character. That RED BOX to me is barely visible and I have many times click on things that I didn't mean to just because I could hardly make out where that red box is. Maybe pick some other design to highlight an 8x8 box other than a thin red line because its hard for me to tell where that red box is sometimes.

25) While watching your new tutorials 1_paletteandplayer, you say "the other thing we have to do is build a HUD". So my question is why? Why do I need a HUD? What if I don't want a HUD at all. Or what if I want a HUD but I want 100% of the game to be a "playable area". If you play Zelda 3 for SNES there is a HUD but the whole screen is the playable area. Usually the screen is centered so that Link is in the center so he doesn't walk behind the HUD and inside of a dungeon usually the HUD is blocked off by a dungeon wall anyway. but I guess Zelda 3 also has priority layers too for block tiles where as NES does not. I guess you could make a minimum HUD out of sprite tiles and have the player simply walk underneath it.

26) Does NESmaker have code built into it for a random number generator (RNG)?
User avatar
TheNew8bitHeroes
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:24 pm
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: My suggestions for NESmaker

Post by TheNew8bitHeroes » Wed Jun 27, 2018 11:31 am

A couple of answers:

21) make sure the window wasn't hidden. Like, it was open, but not brought to the front (you'd still see it in your task bar as *another window*. I've had this happen sometimes if I've clicked on the program somewhere (which brought it to the front) after that window has popped up (or simultaneously).

22) Bank0 is where things like start screen graphics are stored. That hasn't always been the case. Having access to it is more of a holdover...it's sort of a dead link. But you may not even be breaking them down by bank in future versions anyway.

25) You ALWAYS need to define a HUD area. You CAN still overlap them (to make your playable area appear on screen), and there is a bit that you can flip to turn screen off. This will be located on screens (Hide/Show hud toggle). Right now it is not, but you could still do it in code. Off the top of my head, I can't remember what that bit is, but I can look it up. If you were just asking if it's possible to go no-Hud, yes. But you still have to define an appropriate hud area even if you have no intent on showing it.

26) Yes. JSR GetRandomNumber (I think) will yield a random number 0-255 into the accumulator. You can then use bit masks to get that more precise. For instance:

Code: Select all

;;;;;;; GET A RANDOM NUMBER OUT OF 2
;;;;; This only cares about the last bit, which can be 0 or 1, allowing you to get two possible values.
    JSR GetRandomNumber
    AND #%00000001 
    
    ;;;;;;; GET A RANDOM NUMBER OUT OF 4
;;;;; This only cares about the last two bits, which can be
;;;;; 00, 01, 10, or 11, allowing you to get four possible values.
    JSR GetRandomNumber
    AND #%00000011 
    
    ;;;;;;; GET A RANDOM NUMBER OUT OF 8
;;;;; This only cares about the last three bits, which can be
;;;;; 000, 001, 010, 011, 100, 101, 110, 111, allowing you to get eight possible values.
    JSR GetRandomNumber
    AND #%00000111 
    
    ... etc etc etc.

And then you can read that value with a compare:

Code: Select all


    CMP #%00000101 ;; if the result is this exact value
    BNE dontDoThis ;; the result was NOT that value
    ;;; do the thing, because the number was equal to that value
    ;;; code goes here
    JMP done
 dontDoThis:
    ;;; don't do the thing, because the number was NOT equal to that value.
    ;; code goes here...maybe check other possible values.
    ;; repeat above but compare to different possible cases?
 done:   ;; end of code.
 
Post Reply