importing tile sets issue

Can't find your activation code? Activation code isn't working? Need to disable the license on a computer? If you're having a problem with running NESmaker software, this is the correct forum. If your thread is about help with the actual engine and game creation, please use the HELP forum. Thank you.
Post Reply
zeos101
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:01 am

importing tile sets issue

Post by zeos101 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 8:30 pm

When I use pixel edit I see the whole tile set

When I go to assets I only see a small portion of the complete tile set

Thoughts suggestions?
Attachments
nes2.PNG
nes2.PNG (69.36 KiB) Viewed 254 times
nes1.PNG
nes1.PNG (262.94 KiB) Viewed 255 times
User avatar
MistSonata
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:10 am

Re: importing tile sets issue

Post by MistSonata » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:01 pm

Hi there!

There's a few problems I can see right off the bat, the first being that you can only have a 128x48 pixel background tileset (as well as a separate 128x16 screen tile set, a 128x48 path tileset, and a 128x32 HUD tileset). And you can only use one tileset at a time while the game is running, but the game can swap out tilesets when it switches screens.

Second, you seem to have your 16x16 tiles separated by a pixel grid, and it's making them all off center. If you want to use your tiles properly you'll need to erase the grid and bring your tiles closer together.

Third, you'll need to convert the image to BRGB (black, red, green, blue), otherwise the graphics will not show up at all when you compile the rom. It may look just fine in the tool, but I guarantee you it won't show up unless it's in a format that the tool can convert to CHR. Joe made a tutorial about it that you can watch here.

Good luck!
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1465
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: importing tile sets issue

Post by dale_coop » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:05 pm

Assets tile sets are 128x48.
Yours definitely isn't at normal size (looks very huge). It can't fit in a tileset. And the colors are completely off. (it should be RGB)
Did you watch the tutorial videos?

I strongly suggest you to follow the tutorial videos in the section: http://nesmakers.com/viewforum.php?f=25
To learn how to use NESMaker and how to make your first games. Else you will me able to make anything in NESMaker.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1465
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: importing tile sets issue

Post by dale_coop » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:06 pm

LOL ;) ...you beat me, MistSonata ;)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
zeos101
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:01 am

Re: importing tile sets issue

Post by zeos101 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:38 pm

I am about half way threw the adventure video my issue is i am just total arse at pixel art

Great to know the size rule tho thank you for that info, as for the color I was using the pixel edit to change the colors manual this should work ok yes?

When I am done I click on the bad pixels and none are shown
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1465
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: importing tile sets issue

Post by dale_coop » Wed Nov 07, 2018 11:12 pm

Great! You’re doing good.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
zeos101
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:01 am

Re: importing tile sets issue

Post by zeos101 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:45 am

Thank you all for the help I have now completed my very first 1 screen village with buildings paths even windows and doors in the shops.

Next scary thing to tackle player and mob sprits and animations
Post Reply