NES Classic Error

Can't find your activation code? Activation code isn't working? Need to disable the license on a computer? If you're having a problem with running NESmaker software, this is the correct forum. If your thread is about help with the actual engine and game creation, please use the HELP forum. Thank you.
User avatar
battagline
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 10:04 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

NES Classic Error

Post by battagline » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:31 am

Hi, I installed hakchi2 on my computer so I could try and get my game.nes file working on the NES Classic.

However I got the following error saying the Mapper 30 isn't supported:
Mapper30.png
Mapper30.png (5.31 KiB) Viewed 926 times
Is that something that can be changed so I can play it on the NES Classic?

Thanks,
Rick
I make web games if you're bored at work
https://www.classicsolitaire.com
https://www.embed.com
User avatar
functionalform
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: NES Classic Error

Post by functionalform » Thu Aug 30, 2018 5:18 am

did you install retroarch from the mod store and the fceumm core?

if so press yes, and then once it's in the list, right click on the title and at the bottom of the dropdown menu choose 'select emulation core'
and point it to fceumm.

should be good as gold after that.
User avatar
battagline
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 10:04 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: NES Classic Error

Post by battagline » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:30 pm

Sorry, kind of a noob... I don't know what retroarch is.

Thanks
I make web games if you're bored at work
https://www.classicsolitaire.com
https://www.embed.com
briefs
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 7:12 pm

Re: NES Classic Error

Post by briefs » Fri Aug 31, 2018 12:46 am

https://www.reddit.com/r/nesclassicmods/

That's a good resource for everything NES Classic Hacking. They'll get you up to speed
briefs
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 7:12 pm

Re: NES Classic Error

Post by briefs » Fri Aug 31, 2018 12:49 am

User avatar
battagline
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 10:04 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: NES Classic Error

Post by battagline » Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:05 am

So what exactly is Mapper 30 and why is it needed. I'm not sure I want to go and replace the emulator on the NES Classic... seems like it would be better to try and make the code work with the emulator that's there (if possible). If it can't it would be nice to understand why not.

Thanks
I make web games if you're bored at work
https://www.classicsolitaire.com
https://www.embed.com
User avatar
chronosv2
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:30 pm
Location: KY, USA
Contact:

Re: NES Classic Error

Post by chronosv2 » Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:19 am

Mapper 30 is needed because it's the underlying hardware framework that NESMaker runs its code on. The mapper handles how memory is addressed on the system and what features a game has. That's why it's important.
Apparently you can modify a ROM's header somehow to make it Mapper 2 (which runs fine in less advanced emulators) but you cut out some of NESMaker's features (Animated tiles and savegame support) and it's a nasty, messy progress you have to do by hand and won't be able to get any support for.
ASM/C# Coder -- Computer + Coffee = Code
ASM Tutorial Series
User avatar
functionalform
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: NES Classic Error

Post by functionalform » Sun Sep 02, 2018 5:50 am

mapper = the pcb layout of the actual cartridge and how the nes should read from it.
there's roughly 255 different ones that exist and are playable on an nes.

basically the emulator nintendo went with for the nes classic doesn't support a decent of the nes/famicom library.
they really only needed a small handful of mappers to cover the games in the collection.

when you add an alternate core from hakchi, it doesn't overwrite or remove the preexisting one,
you can just have it boot up when there's a "troublesome" game.
User avatar
battagline
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 10:04 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: NES Classic Error

Post by battagline » Tue Sep 04, 2018 9:41 pm

That's interesting. So there are probably many "troublesome" games out there if I were to download other roms online or something like that.

Thanks for your help,
Rick
I make web games if you're bored at work
https://www.classicsolitaire.com
https://www.embed.com
User avatar
functionalform
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: NES Classic Error

Post by functionalform » Wed Sep 05, 2018 6:00 am

yeah, and what surprised me was how it wasn't just some famicom games either.
a few of the mega man games, some tengen titles, batman: return of the joker, etc.)

i don't get why nintendo decided to use an open source emu for the classic and then didn't try for a wider support one?

oh well a few simple clicks, and you're gold.
hakchi can't brick your system as it can reflash your system to factory settings.
Post Reply