NESmaker 4.0.11 - Code Editor - Reset Vector Mystery [SOLVED]

Having trouble compiling code? Getting an unexpected error? Player not appearing on screen? Seeking answers on how to do a particular thing? This is the forum you're looking for, to ask other NESmaker users for assistance.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mihoshi20
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:47 pm

NESmaker 4.0.11 - Code Editor - Reset Vector Mystery [SOLVED]

Post by Mihoshi20 » Sat Sep 29, 2018 2:46 pm

I have an interesting question about the reset vector perhaps someone can enlighten me on. Inside of Vectors.asm it seems the values within are first placed in $FFF0, does that mean that the first value in the .db (#$e7) is placed at $FFF0, is it placed one position after it at $FFF1? I ask this as it seems that the RESET vector is placed at $FFFB instead of $FFFC. If this is the case it somehow still seems to work. Or perhaps I am misunderstanding the significance of the dwords.

Code: Select all

	.org $fff0
	.db #$e7, #$De, #$ec, #$e6, #$da, #$e4, #$de, #$eb, #vLog, #vTS
	;.org $fffa
	.dw NMI
	.dw RESET
	.dw 00
Last edited by Mihoshi20 on Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:44 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1612
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: NESmaker 4.0.11 - Code Editor - Reset Vector Mystery

Post by dale_coop » Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:38 pm

I have completly no idea... it’s far from my current knowledge.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
User avatar
Mihoshi20
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: NESmaker 4.0.11 - Code Editor - Reset Vector Mystery

Post by Mihoshi20 » Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:38 am

dale_coop wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:38 pm
I have completly no idea... it’s far from my current knowledge.
It sudden just dawned on me that I could simply take an assembled NESmaker rom into a hex editor and look at the end of it for the vectors and what I had figured was right. the dwords are 2 bytes in length pushing the next one down so the reset does start at FFFC.
Post Reply