4.1 Adventure Checkpoint

Having trouble compiling code? Getting an unexpected error? Player not appearing on screen? Seeking answers on how to do a particular thing? This is the forum you're looking for, to ask other NESmaker users for assistance.
User avatar
rimoJO
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:23 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: 4.1 Adventure Checkpoint

Post by rimoJO » Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:55 pm

I did, but I got an error saying "setCheckpoint.asm label already defined". It pointed out that the problem was in line 17. This is line 17:

Code: Select all

dontDoCheckpoint:
. Do I comment it or something?
EDIT: Never mind, I got it to work by changing line three in setCheckpoint to

Code: Select all

	;JMP dontDoCheckpoint
and line seventeen to

Code: Select all

;dontDoCheckpoint:
.
Mystery Game status: Currently at least one in development. Stay tuned!
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 5408
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: 4.1 Adventure Checkpoint

Post by dale_coop » Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:13 pm

If it’s saying that. It means you have already this script assigned somewhere.
Did you assign it to another “tile collision 0X”?
You have it assigned more than once.

Can you share screenshots of your Project Settings > Script Settings? (I need to see ALL the scripts assigned)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
My son's game: KUBO 3
User avatar
rimoJO
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:23 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: 4.1 Adventure Checkpoint

Post by rimoJO » Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:24 pm

I set it to the last collision thingy because I cared about Death and I wanted to assign it to an unused one. I'll remember that.
EDIT: And then the one after Death. There's two.
Mystery Game status: Currently at least one in development. Stay tuned!
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 5408
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: 4.1 Adventure Checkpoint

Post by dale_coop » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:33 pm

Yep, when you assign scripts to "Project Settings > Scripts Settings", be careful auto not assign a script more than once, else you will have errors on Export & Test ;)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
My son's game: KUBO 3
User avatar
rimoJO
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:23 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: 4.1 Adventure Checkpoint

Post by rimoJO » Mon Jan 28, 2019 1:18 pm

Ok! Thanks!
Mystery Game status: Currently at least one in development. Stay tuned!
adeventureman
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 7:32 pm

Re: 4.1 Adventure Checkpoint

Post by adeventureman » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:24 pm

man it worked so smooth ! hell yes
User avatar
rimoJO
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:23 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: 4.1 Adventure Checkpoint

Post by rimoJO » Fri May 17, 2019 8:46 pm

It works perfectly in the platform module for me!
Except for the fact that like the poster, I'm making a story-based game, so what if I don't want a life system?
Mystery Game status: Currently at least one in development. Stay tuned!
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 5408
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: 4.1 Adventure Checkpoint

Post by dale_coop » Fri May 17, 2019 8:49 pm

You mean you will not loose lives. Try setting myLives to "0" (I think you will have almost unlimited lives)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
My son's game: KUBO 3
User avatar
rimoJO
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:23 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: 4.1 Adventure Checkpoint

Post by rimoJO » Fri May 17, 2019 9:04 pm

...almost?
also, the color doesn't change when i get the checkpoint. intended color (tile) is 14, constant is 14, should work.
EDIT: Hmm... I did everything step by step but the checkpoint isn't triggering. the sound plays, but I respawn at the start of the game.
Mystery Game status: Currently at least one in development. Stay tuned!
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 5408
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: 4.1 Adventure Checkpoint

Post by dale_coop » Sat May 18, 2019 7:29 am

About the color of your checkpoint, it will. It not change... only the graphics change.

About the respawn, could you share your PlayerLoseLife script?
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
My son's game: KUBO 3
Post Reply