going insane with conditionals

digit2600

nothing says "I'm a total noob to this language " like not being able to write a freakin' conditional that would be cake in any other language. ..

I've Been working for days trying to tweak a castlevania /ninja gaiden/typical action platformer melee script and I've got most of it working except one last annoying problem. ... which I could solve. .. in any other language.

here's what I got:

cmp #$03 ; attacking state
Beq cannot move

cmp #$01; walking state
beq can move

cmp #$02; jumping state
beq can move

changeObjectstate....
--------
ok. this works fine, however, when I jump up and attack, I want to branch to the can move state..

normally I'd write it like this:
if (attacking){
if (walking && !jumping ){ cantMove}else {canMove}

basically, how would I translate that logic ?

I've tried
cmp attack
beq cantmove
cmp walking
beq can Move
cmp jumping
beq can Move
cmp attack
and walking
and jumping
can Move

am I totally wrong here ?

chronosv2

As has been mentioned before, conditional statements are tricky in 6502 or any other "direct-to-processor" language.

So the first thing that I'm thinking is your number... is this intended to be a bitfield?
i.e. if you're moving does it set one bit and if you're jumping it sets another?

Code:
; Moving = #%00000001
; Jumping = #%00000010
; Attacking = #%00000100
LDA PlayerState
AND #%00000001
CMP #%00000001; Are we moving?
BNE +MovingCheckJump ;We are. Let's check jumping.
LDA PlayerState ;We're not so let's check jumping without moving
AND #%00000010
CMP #%00000010
BNE +JumpingCheckAttack
LDA PlayerState ;Not jumping either. Check for stationary attack.
AND #%00000100
CMP #%00000100
BNE +StationaryAttack
; And so on and so forth, checking for each possibility

Etc.
You've got to check for each possibility, as far as I'm aware.
So check Moving
If so check Moving+Jumping
If so check Moving+Jumping+Attacking
If not Moving+Jumping check Moving+Attacking
If not Moving check Jumping