How do I get the NPC text box?

Here is the link to the wedNESday tutorial for making an Adventure game. Done something cool with it? Modified it in some way? Want to ask the community about creating additional features for it? Post things Adventure Module here!
dannal13
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:51 am

How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by dannal13 » Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:03 pm

I've followed the tutorial all the way to this point. I did the GreenWizard monster, set the Object Details to what was displayed, and even watched the PArt 6: Creating Monsters video. My character will walk through the NPC (I gather this is normal or whatever), but what is my interaction? Press B to talk? Did I miss that step in setting up the controller? I just need some direction
User avatar
jsherman
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:25 am
Location: Cleveland OH

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by jsherman » Tue Aug 28, 2018 12:07 am

Walking through your NPC is normal. They have no mass. :)

You have to setup a text string, assign the string to a text group, then make sure you are referencing the right text group on the overworld details screen. You should be able to preview any texts on the monster details (right click on the screen builder)

No need for button setup. The game knows that you press B to talk.

Hope that helps!
"Turtle Rescue" updates can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=112
For more in-depth updates, please follow GossipTurtle on Twitter! https://twitter.com/TurtleRescueNES
dannal13
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:51 am

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by dannal13 » Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:05 am

OK! I got it to work - well, I got SOMETHING to work. Lol. I saw the text string, and that's the most important thing. Thank you for your help!
User avatar
jsherman
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:25 am
Location: Cleveland OH

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by jsherman » Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:31 pm

Glad it worked. If the colors of the text area are off, then you need to set your HUD palette on the screen design. That is always the fourth subpalette.

If the text box looks odd when it goes away, then you may need to reshape the text box. It's a known quirk and that is the easiest workaround.
"Turtle Rescue" updates can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=112
For more in-depth updates, please follow GossipTurtle on Twitter! https://twitter.com/TurtleRescueNES
theDarkLordSagan
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:58 am

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by theDarkLordSagan » Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:04 am

Hey there, I've hit the same problem.

Although I have followed the adventure tutorial up to this point, I cannot for the life of me get the NPC text box to pop up when I press the b button. I've made sure I have valid text, and its assigned to a monster group, and it is assigned to the NPC that I am trying to talk to, but still no luck.

Any pointers on what I can try from here? I've tried deleting and remaking the NPC a few times, and am at a loss. I even tried mapping an animation to the b button just to make sure that I was pressing the correct key. Even after removing the animation mapped to that key, I can't get the text box to come up.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3489
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by dale_coop » Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:08 pm

How is your NPC monster object? Is it set as "NPC", does it have a bounding box (in "Object details")?
How is your player...? Does he have a bounding box?

Have you assign the "b_create_melee.asm" script to the "press" "B" button? (this script creates the NPC textbox in this module)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
theDarkLordSagan
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:58 am

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by theDarkLordSagan » Fri Jan 11, 2019 1:15 pm

Thank you!

I had everything set up correctly except for that b_create_melee script. I just went back and checked when he talks to the NPC in the video and he doesn't seem to even have that script in his input scripts on the left hand side. Regardless, I am very thankful for the help!
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3489
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by dale_coop » Fri Jan 11, 2019 1:21 pm

Depends of the version of NESMaker and the module you used ;)

In the BASE_Adventure module from the 4.1, this script has to be set, because the code for NPC textbox is in this script.
In the Adventure_Module from the 4.0.X, you didn't need to set it, because the NPC textbox system was hardcoded in the collision code.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
rimoJO
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:23 am

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by rimoJO » Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:25 pm

Mine just turns green (the HUD color, i'll change it later), and softlocks... what do I do?
My Projects: Shadow's Caverns Also please visit the game page
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3489
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by dale_coop » Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:41 pm

rimoJO, could share screenshots, your HUD Areas, your Text Group, your Screen ? And maybe your "Screen Info"?
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
Post Reply