Problem with locked doors

Here is the link to the wedNESday tutorial for making an Adventure game. Done something cool with it? Modified it in some way? Want to ask the community about creating additional features for it? Post things Adventure Module here!
Post Reply
RealfnShow
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 3:12 am

Problem with locked doors

Post by RealfnShow » Wed Sep 26, 2018 3:32 am

I'm following along with the tutorial, but my locked door tiles aren't being replaced by the open door tiles when unlocked with the key. The open door tile appears just in front of the locked door tile, which remains on the wall. When the two screens are set to the same Screen Type, and picking up the key triggers both rooms, the tile is replaced as it should. It's only when the Screen Types are different, that I have this issue. Any idea where I went wrong?
User avatar
jsherman
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:25 am
Location: Cleveland OH

Re: Problem with locked doors

Post by jsherman » Wed Sep 26, 2018 2:05 pm

My first hunch is that the room with the key and the room with the locked door are on the same trigger number. Getting the key in one room sets the locked door room to also enter a triggered state. Check your screen details to see if they are both the same number (I forget the field label and i am at work).

One of the trickier things to do is keep track of any trigger events and make sure you assign the scren they occur on a unique number.

I hope that helps.
"Turtle Rescue" updates can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=112
For more in-depth updates, please follow GossipTurtle on Twitter! https://twitter.com/TurtleRescueNES
RealfnShow
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 3:12 am

Re: Problem with locked doors

Post by RealfnShow » Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:17 am

The only time I'm seeing the locked door tile get correctly replaced by the open door tile is when they are set to the same number and triggered together. When they are set to different numbers, the locked door tile remains, and the open door tile appears right in front when you go to unlock the door with the key.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 4473
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Problem with locked doors

Post by dale_coop » Thu Sep 27, 2018 9:04 am

Are you sure, your locked doors (the ones your screen) have the right collision data (on mouse over, it says both are locked doors)? Else put them again on your screen...
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
RealfnShow
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 3:12 am

Re: Problem with locked doors

Post by RealfnShow » Fri Sep 28, 2018 4:22 am

Yeah, the locked door tile is set as "3 - Locked Door"
Post Reply