Create Projectile doesn't work in platform module?

User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1629
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Create Projectile doesn't work in platform module?

Post by dale_coop » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:30 am

OK, could your remove the shootWeapon.asm script from input editor and input scripts... put back the other script you used (CreateSimpleProjectileWithMotion.ASM?). Just that, and check if you still have the problem.
If no problem, share your script, we can compare to see what is the difference and how you can fix that.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
User avatar
ZeGGamer1
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:26 pm

Re: Create Projectile doesn't work in platform module?

Post by ZeGGamer1 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:35 pm

I alwaysed used the shootweapon.asm script. I didn't know there was an alternative.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1629
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Create Projectile doesn't work in platform module?

Post by dale_coop » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:32 pm

ZeGGamer1 wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:35 pm
I alwaysed used the shootweapon.asm script. I didn't know there was an alternative.
I thought you said you used the melee object as the projectile before... that the reason I supposed you used another script.
I did test again today, with your scripts (shootweapon and Platform_HandleHurtMonster) and it works for me. I can shoot at monsters and kill them (and my projectiles are limited to 2)

Could you share a screenshot of your projectile object details (the "details" tab)? AND your monster object details, too ?
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
User avatar
ZeGGamer1
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:26 pm

Re: Create Projectile doesn't work in platform module?

Post by ZeGGamer1 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:36 pm

It did shoot the Melee object, that was until I updated the code to limit it to two projectiles per shot.

And yes, I will sent some screen shots when I can.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1629
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Create Projectile doesn't work in platform module?

Post by dale_coop » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:57 pm

ZeGGamer1 wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:36 pm
It did shoot the Melee object, that was until I updated the code to limit it to two projectiles per shot.

And yes, I will sent some screen shots when I can.
OK :)

By the way, if you prefer shoot your "melee" object, you can just change the

Code: Select all

	CreateObject temp,temp1,#$03, #$00
by:

Code: Select all

	CreateObject temp,temp1,#$01, #$00
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
User avatar
ZeGGamer1
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:26 pm

Re: Create Projectile doesn't work in platform module?

Post by ZeGGamer1 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:59 pm

Hey, that might help too, I'll try doing that to see if it works, if not I can just send you the screen shots.
User avatar
ZeGGamer1
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:26 pm

Re: Create Projectile doesn't work in platform module?

Post by ZeGGamer1 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:56 pm

Progress is made. All We need to do now is get the bullet to damage the enemy.
Attachments
ScreenRecorderProject17.gif
ScreenRecorderProject17.gif (4.59 MiB) Viewed 151 times
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1629
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Create Projectile doesn't work in platform module?

Post by dale_coop » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:34 pm

Your bullet need to be a « player weapon » (not « player », not « persistent », ... just « player weapon ») and have a bounding box ;)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
User avatar
ZeGGamer1
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:26 pm

Re: Create Projectile doesn't work in platform module?

Post by ZeGGamer1 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:47 pm

The bullets FINALLY WORK! one small bug remains however, when there are bullets on the screen, and I transition to a new screen, I cant shoot anymore because the bullets never destroyed themselves, so the prevent shooting variable never resets.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1629
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Create Projectile doesn't work in platform module?

Post by dale_coop » Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:18 am

Great!
Didn’t you figure out what was the problem ?

And for your change of screen with bullets still on screen, you need to add this:
http://nesmakers.com/viewtopic.php?p=6916#p6916
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
Post Reply