Made "CutScenes Introduction Screens" (for between Start Screen and Playable Screens)

User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1277
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Made "CutScenes Introduction Screens" (for between Start Screen and Playable Screens)

Post by dale_coop » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:56 am

Hmmm... check again your Action Step 05 (using the correct animation and this animation IS empty tiles).
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
Bucket Mouse
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 2:25 am

Re: Made "CutScenes Introduction Screens" (for between Start Screen and Playable Screens)

Post by Bucket Mouse » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:30 am

dale_coop wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:56 am
Hmmm... check again your Action Step 05 (using the correct animation and this animation IS empty tiles).
Huh, this is weird. All the settings are right. It disappears now, but only on the second warp.

My cutscene is 3 screens long. On the first cutscene screen, it shows the Idle graphic -- on the second and third it does not.

EDIT: I think I know why. If you push A at any point BEFORE the sprite reappears (meaning before the text box disappears), the screen will display Idle instead of Action Step 05.
darkhog
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Made "CutScenes Introduction Screens" (for between Start Screen and Playable Screens)

Post by darkhog » Fri Sep 28, 2018 9:28 pm

4.0.11 version? I kinda want them for a platformer I'm making.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1277
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Made "CutScenes Introduction Screens" (for between Start Screen and Playable Screens)

Post by dale_coop » Fri Sep 28, 2018 9:53 pm

Yeah, I could adapt my code for the 4.0.11 ;)
I was waiting for the new version 4.1... don't know if it will new special screen (cutscenes) system will be included. It's why I have not updated my tutorial, yet.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
User avatar
davidpgil
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:14 pm
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: Made "CutScenes Introduction Screens" (for between Start Screen and Playable Screens)

Post by davidpgil » Fri Sep 28, 2018 10:53 pm

I thought you could not code in NESMaker... Was this feature added? I want to recreate a game intro cut scene by hand coding.
User avatar
functionalform
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Made "CutScenes Introduction Screens" (for between Start Screen and Playable Screens)

Post by functionalform » Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:28 am

NESmaker is basically an ASM6 frontend with accompanying code.
you can freely edit any and all of it, hence this coding forum.
User avatar
davidpgil
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:14 pm
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: Made "CutScenes Introduction Screens" (for between Start Screen and Playable Screens)

Post by davidpgil » Sun Sep 30, 2018 1:54 pm

functionalform wrote:
Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:28 am
NESmaker is basically an ASM6 frontend with accompanying code.
you can freely edit any and all of it, hence this coding forum.
Thanks. I was not aware of ASM6. You just helped me a great deal since I am teaching myself 6502 in general (not just for NES) and was wondering if anything exists that is not NESASM3, which seems pretty old.

I have been lurking here just seeing if NESMaker is worth my time because I am not too interested in abstracting away the complexity of NES dev. I guess what I am hoping for is NESMaker to be like an IDE for 6502 programming :D
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1277
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Made "CutScenes Introduction Screens" (for between Start Screen and Playable Screens)

Post by dale_coop » Sun Sep 30, 2018 3:02 pm

Yes you could say it's like an IDE for 6502 programming... sort of.
NESMaker comes with its own already coded engine. Then user can add graphics, make objects, sprites, tiles.
But anyone can modify ALL the scripts, adapt them, add new code, write monsters IA, write a complete different physics or collision system,...
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
User avatar
davidpgil
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:14 pm
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: Made "CutScenes Introduction Screens" (for between Start Screen and Playable Screens)

Post by davidpgil » Sun Sep 30, 2018 3:36 pm

dale_coop wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 3:02 pm
Yes you could say it's like an IDE for 6502 programming... sort of.
NESMaker comes with its own already coded engine. Then user can add graphics, make objects, sprites, tiles.
But anyone can modify ALL the scripts, adapt them, add new code, write monsters IA, write a complete different physics or collision system,...
Can I take code from NESMaker and assemble it outside of NESMaker? Can I take my whole NESMaker game and just run "asm6 mygame.asm" and it will spit out a working nes file?
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1277
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Made "CutScenes Introduction Screens" (for between Start Screen and Playable Screens)

Post by dale_coop » Sun Sep 30, 2018 4:32 pm

I think you could... because the "compile" menu launch the batch: "asm6 MainASM.nes game.nes demo.txt"
But why would you do that outside of NESMaker... the better would be to use NESMaker to make your objects, write your code, and then compile the code to have the game.nes.
If you want to do things outside of NESMaker, I think NESMaker is not for you.
If you want more info, watch the different videos on the Youtube channel or on Vimeo.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
Post Reply