[4.1] Music & SFX not importing? This may be why.

AndyS27

An error occured while importing Sounds
Value cannot be null.
Parameter name: s

Hey everyone. Are you sick and tired of seeing this little error screen when trying to import a FamiTracker text file into your game? I'm a newbie when it comes to all other aspects of NES Maker, but I'm extremely experienced with FamiTracker -- and I'm pretty sure I've figured out what causes that blasted error.

BASICALLY you don't want any unused patterns of music included in your FamiTracker songs. Here's what I figured out --

Let's say I've written some music and put them in the following patterns: 00, 01, 02, and 03. They all contain note data and they sound great. Awesome!

Now let's say my frames look something like this:

------------Pattern
Frame 00: 00,00,00,00,00
--------01: 01,00,00,00,00
--------02: 03,01,01,03,00
--------03: 01,01,01,00,00
--------04: 03,03,03,03,00

...I hit play, and I like how the song sounds, so I decide to export it as a text file and import it to NES Maker.

This won't work, and here's why:

Notice how I never used the 02 pattern in any of the 5 frames in the song? NESMaker doesn't like that!!

If you have a pattern like "02" in the example which you never play in any of your frames, NESMaker won't import the text file!

I found this out after doing a lot of testing. Before figuring this out, the best advice I had heard was that NES Maker was just really finicky when importing music -- but I think this is the cause of most of the problems. It causes a lot of headaches trying to fix this AFTER writing your music, so just keep this in mind. Only put music in patterns you plan on using! If you have an unused pattern (02), but you DO use pattern 03, then copy all of the data from 03, put it into 02, and switch to using 02 instead of 03 in your frames. Then just delete everything in the 03 pattern.

This SHOULD solve the importing problem.