Extra GGsound Limitations

darkhog
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Extra GGsound Limitations

Post by darkhog » Thu Aug 23, 2018 6:39 pm

Have you tried naming them without numbers? Like Beach and Beachside? Maybe numbers are being treated the same way as spaces (i.e. everything after and including them is cut off)?

Otherwise, I have pics to prove that:

Image
nezvers
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:42 pm

Re: Extra GGsound Limitations

Post by nezvers » Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:55 pm

Wait, I GGSound can't use effects but can use envelopes for a pitch? I thought if no effects then envelopes are out of question.
User avatar
CutterCross
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:42 pm

Re: Extra GGsound Limitations

Post by CutterCross » Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:28 pm

nezvers wrote:
Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:55 pm
Wait, I GGSound can't use effects but can use envelopes for a pitch? I thought if no effects then envelopes are out of question.
GGsound can use envelopes just fine (aside from Hi-Pitch), it just can't use effects or channel volume control.
The Tower of Turmoil: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=227
User avatar
SuperMar10Brothe
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 4:43 pm

Re: Extra GGsound Limitations

Post by SuperMar10Brothe » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:47 pm

im having problems with my music not sounding anything like it does in famitracker, i made sure not to use effects column, channel volume, Hi-pitch envelopes, tempo other than 150, spaces in instrument names (ignore the space in the video)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJjcrH6 ... e=youtu.be
Anyone have any idea what could be wrong?
User avatar
DanielT1985
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 7:44 pm

Re: Extra GGsound Limitations

Post by DanielT1985 » Sat Sep 15, 2018 3:13 pm

Another thing I found out was that if a part of your song doesn't really use one of the channels in that frame, DO NOT keep it blank. That will make it read as Null and will cause problems. It's best if you just place a random note that doesn't make noise if you still want to have that channel in there silent. It can be one note or 2 or whatever how many you place. As long as you keep something in that frame, it won't read as Null & cause errors. Example is pulse 1 and 2 in my song playing a silent note here: https://bit.ly/2xm7Sm4
darkhog
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Extra GGsound Limitations

Post by darkhog » Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:11 am

How do you handle vibrato in famitracker songs that have to convert to NESMaker? I'm guessing using effect 4xy is out of the question...

//edit: Also how do I handle arpeggios in sustain instruments? Is making stupidly long envelope my only option?
User avatar
CutterCross
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:42 pm

Re: Extra GGsound Limitations

Post by CutterCross » Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:25 am

darkhog wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:11 am
How do you handle vibrato in famitracker songs that have to convert to NESMaker? I'm guessing using effect 4xy is out of the question...

//edit: Also how do I handle arpeggios in sustain instruments? Is making stupidly long envelope my only option?
1. You'd have to use a Pitch envelope that alternates between a higher and lower pitch, like a sine wave. The more rapid the change, the faster the vibrato. The farther apart your higher/lower pitches are from the center, the more drastic the vibrato. And of course, loop the envelope.

2. Just loop your arpeggio envelope.
The Tower of Turmoil: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=227
darkhog
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Extra GGsound Limitations

Post by darkhog » Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:28 am

How do I even loop an envelope? Seriously, I see no setting to do that.
Image
User avatar
CutterCross
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:42 pm

Re: Extra GGsound Limitations

Post by CutterCross » Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:32 am

darkhog wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:28 am
How do I even loop an envelope? Seriously, I see no setting to do that.
Image
You left-click the gray bar right below -10 on your image.
The Tower of Turmoil: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=227
Post Reply