Hello everyone

Phosis

Hi guys,

I am new here (obviously) and wanted to say "hi".

I am 33, a web developer by trade, and I write for a video game site called Destructoid. Though I wouldn't call myself a collector per se, I do have a decent library of NES games. The NES and the Sega Genesis/Megadrive are my favorite systems of all time, but I like collecting NES cartridges, of which I have about 100 or so. My wife got me a Retro AVS a couple of years ago, and I play it basically all the time.

I read about NESMaker when I was looking into GameMaker, because I want to develop something unique both as a side hobby, and to put on my development portfolio as an interesting talking point. I currently spend most of my time developing backend things in PHP, which is mainly moving data around, and have no actual game dev experience.

In the course of an evening, I sat down with my young daughter, and she was giving me "tips" for designing our first simple platformer. I decided I wanted to go "all in" and make a game similar to Lolo - simple logic, single screen at first, a modest number of levels (maybe 25). I am working on prototyping based on pre-existing assets, and learning how to modify existing scripts, and have a trajectory of six months in which I'd like to have my first fully finished game.

I also ordered the hardware (which strangely, I never got a notification email for) so we can actually test it, and bought a cheap MIDI keyboard so I can make songs in famitracker (creating digital music was a hobby of mine some years ago)

Anyways, I am happy to be a part of this community, intimidated but eager to learn, and just really want to see a project through all the way to the end.

dale_coop

Staff member
Welcome Phosis
Glad you joined us. A great community.
Your motivations are the same as ours.
When starting with NESMaker don’t forget to watch the tutorial videos (www.thenew8bitheroes.com), but I’m sure you already watched them ;)