Can't export and test game

Post Reply
User avatar
FroginatorArt
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:05 pm

Can't export and test game

Post by FroginatorArt » Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:19 pm

Hello!
I have just started making my game in the engine after I bought it and was following the instructions in this tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G5fmJ-H6Sgg
However after making my first level layout and trying to export and test the game, the cmd gave me this text:

Code: Select all

C:\Users\[ME]\Desktop\Programme\NESmaker_4_1_5\GameEngineData>asm6 MainASM.nes game.nes demo.txt
pass 1..
Routines\Basic\\System\AssignBanks.asm(90): Value out of range.
demo.txt written.

C:\Users\[ME]\Desktop\Programme\NESmaker_4_1_5\GameEngineData>pause
Press any key . . .
Afterwards I got a notification that said that "game.nes" was not found.
How do I fix this?
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3956
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Can't export and test game

Post by dale_coop » Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:41 pm

It's an old tutorial video... (it might not work with the current version... some settings are missing or concepts that are different now)
You should start with the ones from www.thenew8bitheroes.com first. Then when you will know more how to use, how it works, and follow all those tutorials, you can try old ones if you want ;)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
FroginatorArt
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:05 pm

Re: Can't export and test game

Post by FroginatorArt » Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:00 pm

dale_coop wrote:
Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:41 pm
It's an old tutorial video... (it might not work with the current version... some settings are missing or concepts that are different now)
You should start with the ones from www.thenew8bitheroes.com first. Then when you will know more how to use, how it works, and follow all those tutorials, you can try old ones if you want ;)
Ok, trying those tutorials now.
How do I test this game now though?
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3956
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Can't export and test game

Post by dale_coop » Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:07 pm

I think your error is the graphics you made are not correct (maybe not the correct dimensions for your background tilesets bmp?)...
So it doesn't compile... you can't run the game.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
FroginatorArt
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:05 pm

Re: Can't export and test game

Post by FroginatorArt » Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:16 pm

That might very well be the case, as I made them beforehand.
What dimensions are recommended and how do I match them up?
User avatar
FroginatorArt
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:05 pm

Re: Can't export and test game

Post by FroginatorArt » Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:24 pm

Okay, I used the templates that come with the program now and I can test the game in the Mesen Emulator as described in the video.
Now the screen goes grey when the game is loaded in the emulator. Will this be talked about in the tutorial? If so, my questions would be answered :]
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3956
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Can't export and test game

Post by dale_coop » Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:53 pm

If grey... it could be:
- your project info (need to "skip the start screen" checked)
- your sprite0 that is not correctly set? (cf sprite zero tutorial video)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
Post Reply