Too many lives

Post Reply
User avatar
n8bit
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:55 pm

Too many lives

Post by n8bit » Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:53 pm

So I have an annoying issue with Doodle World...

Either I am really good, the game is too easy, or I have too many opportunities for extra lives.

Either way, right now after 9 lives my HUD lives counter rolls over to hex for 10 and up lives, basically after 09 it moves to 0A and so on. Been scouring the code to see where I can change this but coming up short. Anyone else come across this issue?
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 4376
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Too many lives

Post by dale_coop » Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:53 pm

If you display the "myLives" hud variable in your HUD... and if you display it with more than 2 digits, you'll have to modify the default scripts, yeah.
- the one that increases your lives (a power up script?).
- the one that handles player lose life.
Could you share them ?
Also, how many digits has your displayed myLives hud?
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
n8bit
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:55 pm

Re: Too many lives

Post by n8bit » Tue Nov 05, 2019 7:37 pm

dale_coop wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:53 pm
If you display the "myLives" hud variable in your HUD... and if you display it with more than 2 digits, you'll have to modify the default scripts, yeah.
- the one that increases your lives (a power up script?).
- the one that handles player lose life.
Could you share them ?
Also, how many digits has your displayed myLives hud?
I have 2 digits displayed in the HUD. I expanded to 3 but it did not change the fact that hex was displayed rather than a number...

I have two methods to increase lives in the game. One is with a "1UP" item and the other is by collecting 100 "crayons".

Here is my "1UP" Power up script:

Code: Select all

    LDA myLives
    ADC #$00 ;add 1 to lives
    STA myLives    

    ;; update the count in hud:
    STA hudElementTilesToLoad
    UpdateHud HUD_myLives
    
    ;; play 1UP sound
    PlaySound #SND_GET
Here is my "crayon" script:

Code: Select all

;;blank
    CPX player1_object
    BEQ isPlayerForCollectable
    JMP ++
isPlayerForCollectable:
    LDA tileCollisionFlag
    BEQ +
    JMP ++
+
    LDA #$01
    STA tileCollisionFlag
    ChangeTileAtCollision #$00, #$60
    
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    TXA
    STA tempx   
    AddValue #$08, myMoney, #$01, #$00
    ;;; we also need to set up the routine to update the HUD
    ;; for this to work right, health must be a "blank-then-draw" type element.
    ;STA hudElementTilesToLoad
    ;   LDA #$00
    ;   STA hudElementTilesMax
        ; LDA DrawHudBytes
        ; ora #HUD_myMoney
        ; STA DrawHudBytes
    UpdateHud HUD_myMoney
    PlaySound #SND_CART

    LDA #$00
    STA value
    STA value+1
    STA value+2
    STA value+3
    STA value+4
    STA value+5
    STA value+6
    STA value+7
    
    ;; extra life stuff:
    LDA myMoney+2
    BNE updateLives ;count equal to 100
    JMP +
    
updateLives:
    LDA myLives
    ADC #$01 ;add 1 to lives
    STA myLives    

    ;; update the count in hud:
    STA hudElementTilesToLoad
    UpdateHud HUD_myLives
    
    ;; play 1UP sound
    PlaySound #SND_GET
    
    ;;reset myMoney count
    LDA #$00
    STA myMoney
    STA myMoney+1
    STA myMoney+2
+:
    LDX tempx
    
    
Here is my lose life script:

Code: Select all

;;; do loss of life stuff here
    DEC myLives
    LDA myLives
    BNE gameNotOver
    ;;do gameover stuff here.  Warp to screen?  Show animation?  Just restart?
    ;JMP RESET
    JMP gameOver
    

gameNotOver:
    ;;;;;
    ;;; do warp to continue screen stuff here.
    LDA #$00
    STA newGameState
    LDA continueMap
    CLC
    ADC #$01
    STA temp
    GoToScreen continueScreen, temp, #$04   
    LDA #$00
    STA playerToSpawn
    ;LDX player1_object
    ;DeactivateCurrentObject    
    LDA #$01
    STA loadObjectFlag
    
    JSR DeactivateAllObjects
 
    LDA continuePositionX
    STA newX
    LDA continuePositionY
    STA newY    

    ;; player1 reset health:
    LDA #$03        ;;  <--- HERE reset with your Health value
    STA myHealth    
    
    RTS
gameOver:
    ;; warp to Game over:
    LDA #GAME_OVER_SCREEN
    STA warpToScreen
    
    LDA #$00
    STA newGameState
    LDA continueMap
    CLC
    ADC #$01
    STA temp
    GoToScreen warpToScreen, temp, #$02 
    LDA #$00
    STA playerToSpawn
    ;LDX player1_object
    ;DeactivateCurrentObject    
    LDA #$01
    STA loadObjectFlag
    
    JSR DeactivateAllObjects
 
    RTS 
    
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 4376
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Too many lives

Post by dale_coop » Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:34 am

First, the explanation of your issue.
myLives is a variable that can have any integer value. But, because you displays it as 2 digits on your HUD, NESmaker split it into 2 memory addresses:
"myLives+1" for the tenths digit
"myLives" for the units digit
Each of them should have a value between "0" and "9" to be able to display "00" - "99" in your hud (2 different tiles are drawn).

Your current code is only based on "myLives"... increasing it. Then, when the units digit (myLives) is "9" and you do a +1... it becomes "10", it means the next value after "9", also mean the next "tile" after "9" in your tileset... which is the "A" tile.
So you have to use specific macro to increase and decrease a variable that is displayed as a number on the HUD (more than 2 digits), if you take a look at how myScore code is made, you can guess...

Here is a modified version of your code using the AddValue and SubtractValue macros instead of ADC/INC/SBC/DEC opcodes...

The "1UP" Power up script:

Code: Select all

    TXA
    STA tempx   
	
	AddValue #$02, myLives, #$01, #$00	;; Adding +1 to a 2 digits HUD variable
	
    ;; update the count in hud:
    UpdateHud HUD_myLives
    
    ;; play 1UP sound
    PlaySound #SND_GET
	
	LDX tempx	
The "crayon" script:

Code: Select all

;;blank
    CPX player1_object
    BEQ isPlayerForCollectable
    JMP ++
isPlayerForCollectable:
    LDA tileCollisionFlag
    BEQ +
    JMP ++
+
    LDA #$01
    STA tileCollisionFlag
    ChangeTileAtCollision #$00, #$60
    
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    TXA
    STA tempx   
    AddValue #$08, myMoney, #$01, #$00
    ;;; we also need to set up the routine to update the HUD
    ;; for this to work right, health must be a "blank-then-draw" type element.
    ;STA hudElementTilesToLoad
    ;   LDA #$00
    ;   STA hudElementTilesMax
        ; LDA DrawHudBytes
        ; ora #HUD_myMoney
        ; STA DrawHudBytes
    UpdateHud HUD_myMoney
    PlaySound #SND_CART

    LDA #$00
    STA value
    STA value+1
    STA value+2
    STA value+3
    STA value+4
    STA value+5
    STA value+6
    STA value+7
    
    ;; extra life stuff:
    LDA myMoney+2
    BNE updateLives ;count equal to 100
    JMP +
    
updateLives:
	AddValue #$02, myLives, #$01, #$00	;; Adding +1 to a 2 digits HUD variable

    ;; update the count in hud:
    UpdateHud HUD_myLives
    
    ;; play 1UP sound
    PlaySound #SND_GET
    
    ;;reset myMoney count
    LDA #$00
    STA myMoney
    STA myMoney+1
    STA myMoney+2
+:
    LDX tempx
    
    
The lose life script:

Code: Select all

;;; do loss of life stuff here
	SubtractValue #$02, myLives, #$01, #$00	;; Decreasing -1 a 2 digits HUD variable
	
    LDA myLives+1	;; checking if the tenth digit is different than 0
    BNE gameNotOver
    LDA myLives		;; then, checking if the unit digit is different than 0 
    BNE gameNotOver
    ;;do gameover stuff here.  Warp to screen?  Show animation?  Just restart?
    ;JMP RESET
    JMP gameOver
    

gameNotOver:
    ;;;;;
    ;;; do warp to continue screen stuff here.
    LDA #$00
    STA newGameState
    LDA continueMap
    CLC
    ADC #$01
    STA temp
    GoToScreen continueScreen, temp, #$04   
    LDA #$00
    STA playerToSpawn
    ;LDX player1_object
    ;DeactivateCurrentObject    
    LDA #$01
    STA loadObjectFlag
    
    JSR DeactivateAllObjects
 
    LDA continuePositionX
    STA newX
    LDA continuePositionY
    STA newY    

    ;; player1 reset health:
    LDA #$03        ;;  <--- HERE reset with your Health value
    STA myHealth    
    
    RTS
gameOver:
    ;; warp to Game over:
    LDA #GAME_OVER_SCREEN
    STA warpToScreen
    
    LDA #$00
    STA newGameState
    LDA continueMap
    CLC
    ADC #$01
    STA temp
    GoToScreen warpToScreen, temp, #$02 
    LDA #$00
    STA playerToSpawn
    ;LDX player1_object
    ;DeactivateCurrentObject    
    LDA #$01
    STA loadObjectFlag
    
    JSR DeactivateAllObjects
 
    RTS 
    

Also, make sure your SubtractValue.asm macro is the 4.1.1 updated one! (Joe fixed it for the 4.1.1... but forgot to put it in the 4.1.5 version).
If you open it (the script should be in your "Basic\Macros" folder), it should be that one:

Code: Select all

MACRO SubtractValue arg0, arg1, arg2, arg3
	TXA
	PHA
	;arg0 = how many places this value has.
	;arg1 = home variable
	;arg2 = amount to subtract ... places?
	;arg3 = to what place
	LDX arg0
	--:
		LDA arg1,x ;; the variable that you want to push
		STA value,x
		dex
		BPL --
	LDX arg3 ; sets the place to push.
	LDA arg2
	STA temp
	JSR valueSubLoop ;; will add what is in accumulator.
	;;; now value nees to be unpacked back into the variable.

		LDX arg0
	-:
		LDA value,x ;; the variable that you want to push
		STA arg1,x
		dex
		BPL -
	PLA 
	TAX
	ENDM
(in that updated version... the "arg3" variable is used "LDX arg3 ; sets the place to push."... in the incorrect version that line was not in the script)

If it doesn't work as intended, tell me, I could fix the issue... when I am at home (I am at my office, right now).

See ya
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
n8bit
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:55 pm

Re: Too many lives

Post by n8bit » Fri Nov 08, 2019 4:49 pm

That worked!

I was on the right track, but was looking in the wrong place... as usual.

Thanks again Dale!
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 4376
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Too many lives

Post by dale_coop » Fri Nov 08, 2019 4:56 pm

Glad it worked ;)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
Post Reply