more Special screens, pop up text and level intermission cutscenes

User avatar
PewkoGames
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:16 am

Re: more Special screens, pop up text and level intermission cutscenes

Post by PewkoGames » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:52 am

I FIGURED IT OUT! Thank you CutterCross and Dale! Took a bit of fiddling but it worked. Now how would I do a game over screen? I assume its different then level advancing. Another thing is that with the basic Maze module, you only have one instant death and I want it to be instant death but 3 lives. How would I do that?

I'll post a video of the working cutscene by the way :)
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3617
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: more Special screens, pop up text and level intermission cutscenes

Post by dale_coop » Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:39 pm

For the 3 lives... first, check that your HUD variable myLives initial value is set to "3".
Then, duplicate your "PlayerLoseLife.asm" script (located in the "" folder) for example as "PlayerLoseLife_withLives.asm" and modify that script to looks like that (I copy/paste from the scrolling module one):

Code: Select all

;;; do loss of life stuff here
	DEC myLives
	LDA myLives
	BNE gameNotOver
	;;do gameover stuff here.  Warp to screen?  Show animation?  Just restart?
	JMP RESET
	
gameNotOver:
	;;;;;
	;;; do warp to continue screen stuff here.
	LDA #$00
	STA newGameState
	LDA continueMap
	CLC
	ADC #$01
	STA temp
	GoToScreen continueScreen, temp, #$04	
	LDA #$00
	STA playerToSpawn
	;LDX player1_object
	;DeactivateCurrentObject	
	LDA #$01
	STA loadObjectFlag
 
	LDA continuePositionX
	STA newX
	LDA continuePositionY
	STA newY	

	;; player1 reset health:
	LDA #$03		;;  <--- HERE reset with your Health value
	STA myHealth	
And in "Project Settings > Script Settings", assign that script to the "Handle Lose Life" element.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
PewkoGames
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:16 am

Re: more Special screens, pop up text and level intermission cutscenes

Post by PewkoGames » Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:52 pm

Awesome! okay I did that, how would you implicate that to the HUD? I want it to say "LIVES:3" and go down when you lose a life
User avatar
PewkoGames
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:16 am

Re: more Special screens, pop up text and level intermission cutscenes

Post by PewkoGames » Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:56 pm

Hmmm now its giving me an unkown label error for the "PlayerLoseLife_withLives.asm"
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3617
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: more Special screens, pop up text and level intermission cutscenes

Post by dale_coop » Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:58 pm

Go to your HUD & Boxes, in the user variables, rename a unused one (for ex, UserVar_6) to "myLives" set a initial value of "3" and display it in the Elements tab as a number.
You will have to test to see if the HUD is automatically update. Else we will have to add some lines, somewhere :p
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
PewkoGames
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:16 am

Re: more Special screens, pop up text and level intermission cutscenes

Post by PewkoGames » Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:02 pm

EDIT: okay now its working fine!
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3617
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: more Special screens, pop up text and level intermission cutscenes

Post by dale_coop » Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:05 pm

Glad it's working :)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
PewkoGames
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:16 am

Re: more Special screens, pop up text and level intermission cutscenes

Post by PewkoGames » Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:24 pm

Yes, however when I get to the second life, I'm noticing that in the "01234567" score string, the 5 turns black. and when i run into an enemy the game freezes. Odd
Post Reply