Tutorial Issue

JamesD
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:36 am

Tutorial Issue

Post by JamesD » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:50 am

I am following the NESmaker Beta1 tutorial on YouTube and have run in to some issues. (They aren't about how things are different now as I caught all of that and changed appropriately, I believe.)

I have created a screen on the map in the Overworld following what was done in the tutorial. However, when I build and test the game, the palette that is used to draw the screen is the fourth palette, not the first and second even though they are set correctly in the tool. The screen even displays correctly in the tool, but not in game. Secondly, the graphics are a bit messed up in game. There are lines of errant pixels seen in the image even though they do not appear in the editor. The screen looks like this:
BadScreen.png
BadScreen.png (2.92 KiB) Viewed 405 times
Finally, as you can see, the player sprite is also not drawn. I did set up the HUD as explained in the Update video for 3.14 (as evidenced by the two rows of black at the bottom), but perhaps something else changed? The player is set up as a game object, I have set the position on the screen, and I have defined all of the animations. I have even set up the scripts (although they are different than in the tutorial), but I cannot tell if they are working or not as the sprite is not rendered. I have used fceux to look at the PPU data and the sprite data is there, just not drawn. FYI, the sprite should be rendered where the bottom black square shows up.

Are there any example projects that could be downloaded so that we can see how some of these things are set up instead of watching a bunch of tutorial videos?
JamesD
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:36 am

Re: Tutorial Issue

Post by JamesD » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:02 am

Okay, fixed the color and errant pixels issue. I thought I had created a two row HUD, but it was actually only one. Once I made it two rows, the colors worked correctly.

However, the player sprite still does not render.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1293
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Tutorial Issue

Post by dale_coop » Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:32 am

For the player non visible, verify that your player object is "player" and "PERSISTANT".
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
JamesD
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:36 am

Re: Tutorial Issue

Post by JamesD » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:04 pm

Thanks Dale, that is fixed, but now there is another problem. Every time I enter a screen with a path on it, I get a black screen, and the nametable is not updated in the PPU. For example, if I set the player's start screen to a screen with a path and press start, the nametable stays as the one for the start screen. The game also apparently freezes at this point. As a likely related issue, if I expand the "Path Info" node under "Graphics Bank 1" and click on the path (called "DirtPath"), I get an exception that says "Sequence contains no elements". This was working before as can be seen in the previous screenshot that has a path, so I am not sure what happened unless it is a save and reload bug?
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1293
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Tutorial Issue

Post by dale_coop » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:13 pm

I didn't try the path in the new version (I used it on the beta, was working well).
I will make some tests tonight and see if I have the same pbm.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1293
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Tutorial Issue

Post by dale_coop » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:20 pm

Could you share some screenshots of your "PathTiles00.bmp" in pixel editor, your path "Path info", and your Screen Info ?
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
JamesD
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:36 am

Re: Tutorial Issue

Post by JamesD » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:53 pm

PathTiles00.bmp (Converted to png so I can attach it): It is just the one from the BetaAssets folder recolored.
PathTiles00.png
PathTiles00.png (320 Bytes) Viewed 368 times
In Pixel Editor:
PixelEditor-Path.png
PixelEditor-Path.png (44.86 KiB) Viewed 366 times
Path Info:
PathInfo.png
PathInfo.png (56.68 KiB) Viewed 366 times
Screen Info:
ScreenInfo.png
ScreenInfo.png (77.71 KiB) Viewed 366 times
You may note that there are two "DirtPath" items listed under the Path Info node. The problem existed before the second one was added, and I can't find how to remove them. I am not sure what "Screen Flag 1" and "Screen Flag 2" do, but they are also set on the other two screens that work.
Attachments
ScreenInfo.png
ScreenInfo.png (77.71 KiB) Viewed 368 times
PixelEditor-Path.png
PixelEditor-Path.png (44.86 KiB) Viewed 368 times
PathInfo.png
PathInfo.png (56.68 KiB) Viewed 368 times
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1293
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Tutorial Issue

Post by dale_coop » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:58 pm

Could be related to the problem of 2 “dirt path” paths.
Could you delete one of them?
And check again that the path is still assigned to your different screens?
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
JamesD
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:36 am

Re: Tutorial Issue

Post by JamesD » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:04 pm

I am assuming that to delete one of them, I right-click on it in the tree? But when I do that, I get the exception and no option to delete. There is no path assigned on my other two screens that work. Is that the problem?
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 1293
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Tutorial Issue

Post by dale_coop » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:09 pm

Yeah I think this Is the problem. Did you try to close NESMaker and open again your project? To see if there still the problem?
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE
Post Reply