How do I get the NPC text box?

Here is the link to the wedNESday tutorial for making an Adventure game. Done something cool with it? Modified it in some way? Want to ask the community about creating additional features for it? Post things Adventure Module here!
User avatar
temporarycowboy
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:59 am

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by temporarycowboy » Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:12 am

Not OP, but I am having a similar issue. After pressing B, the audio hangs and the HUD (where the text area is) turns black, softlocking.
Attached are the relevant images.

Image Image Image Image Image
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3945
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by dale_coop » Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:17 am

On your 2nd picture, HUD & Boxes, you forgot to set the TextBox Area. You have to define a zone, where the textbook will appear, else it might glitch.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
temporarycowboy
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:59 am

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by temporarycowboy » Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:12 am

The textbox was defined in the same area as the HUD, which one of the tutorials had shown as working. I've since moved it down into the playable area and cleaned the screen, but it still produces the same crash.
This happens,
Image
and shortly after:
Image

Going to double check that my text strings and NPC info is correct.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3945
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by dale_coop » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:03 am

Ttry reducing the size of your text box.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
temporarycowboy
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:59 am

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by temporarycowboy » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:20 am

That did help some! Shrinking the text box helped the game not crash long enough that I figured out the problem:
apparently the music I imported had no defined SFX to accompany it, resulting in game panicking when it could not find the sound. I imported the tutorial music from the beta assets and everything displayed fine! Thanks!
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3945
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by dale_coop » Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:59 pm

Oh, yeah, you have to be carreful with the sfx&music, it's quite... sensitive ;)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
rimoJO
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:23 am
Location: Planet Earth

Re: How do I get the NPC text box?

Post by rimoJO » Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:37 am

I got it.
Mystery Game status: Currently at least one in development. Stay tuned!
Post Reply