How to disable depth-orient sprite drawing and save some more CPU time

Post Reply
User avatar
FrankenGraphics
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:36 am

How to disable depth-orient sprite drawing and save some more CPU time

Post by FrankenGraphics » Wed Mar 27, 2019 6:19 pm

This can save you a little bit of extra overhead if you don't need depth-oriented sprite drawing (such as needed in slanted or isometric topdowners):

search and open HandleUpdateObjects.asm

1) comment out lines 16, 51-58 and lines 363-365
2) un-comment line 367

save (as a copy, and relink your project to that copy through script settings).
www.frankengraphics.com - NES homebrew blog
User avatar
mongolianmisfit
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:40 am

Re: How to disable depth-orient sprite drawing and save some more CPU time

Post by mongolianmisfit » Sun Mar 31, 2019 4:07 pm

Object placement is off with this implementation when using any platformer module. Any workaround for that?
User avatar
FrankenGraphics
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:36 am

Re: How to disable depth-orient sprite drawing and save some more CPU time

Post by FrankenGraphics » Wed Apr 03, 2019 12:35 am

Probably.. can you describe in what way they’re off and by how much?
www.frankengraphics.com - NES homebrew blog
vanderblade
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 5:20 am

Re: How to disable depth-orient sprite drawing and save some more CPU time

Post by vanderblade » Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:05 pm

For the life of me, I can't find HandleUpdateObjects in my Script Settings. Where should I be looking?
vanderblade
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 5:20 am

Re: How to disable depth-orient sprite drawing and save some more CPU time

Post by vanderblade » Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:16 pm

When I make the suggested changes using the shooter module, I get an Unknown Label error on line 370:

Code: Select all

JMP UpdateObjectsLoop
User avatar
CutterCross
Posts: 457
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to disable depth-orient sprite drawing and save some more CPU time

Post by CutterCross » Thu Jun 25, 2020 6:16 pm

vanderblade wrote:
Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:16 pm
When I make the suggested changes using the shooter module, I get an Unknown Label error on line 370:

Code: Select all

JMP UpdateObjectsLoop
There's a small mistake with this tutorial. You're NOT supposed to comment out line 54, which is the UpdateObjectsLoop label.
Post Reply