Can't change monster palette?

Post Reply
thatbear
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:44 am

Can't change monster palette?

Post by thatbear » Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:55 am

I'm new to NESmaker, and I'm having trouble figuring out how to change monster palettes. I'm using version 4.1.5 and I've tried everything I can think of, and nothing seems to work. I can only choose from the default monster palettes. Am I missing something obvious?
User avatar
Razzie.P
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 3:51 am

Re: Can't change monster palette?

Post by Razzie.P » Mon Aug 05, 2019 3:15 am

When creating a monster, you'd click the drop down under Sub 1 and Sub 2 to change them. If you mean changing the palette when building a screen, you'd click Screen Info > Day Monsters (or night, if that's what you're working with) Choose the Monster Group and use the drop downs there.

Hope this helps!
MonPall_001.jpg
MonPall_001.jpg (83.05 KiB) Viewed 2861 times
MonPall_002.jpg
MonPall_002.jpg (205.13 KiB) Viewed 2861 times
thatbear
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:44 am

Re: Can't change monster palette?

Post by thatbear » Mon Aug 05, 2019 3:43 am

Thanks for the quick reply, but I mean I'm unable to change the colors that are set to each palette. I can change which palette is used, but the only palettes I have are all the same colors (0F, 01, 05, 30)
User avatar
Mugi
Posts: 808
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 8:30 pm

Re: Can't change monster palette?

Post by Mugi » Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:32 am

when editing monsters, you can select a palette, edit it and rename it there.

Image
"what are you up to?" "Oh, not much... just... Parallaxing"
- Raftronaut
thatbear
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:44 am

Re: Can't change monster palette?

Post by thatbear » Thu Aug 08, 2019 1:59 am

Oh okay! I feel like I tried that, but either way, it's working now. Thanks so much for your help!
User avatar
pixeltao
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 5:51 am
Contact:

Re: Can't change monster palette?

Post by pixeltao » Sun Dec 29, 2019 2:19 am

I seem to be having this issue with any palette in version 4.1.5. When I click on the palette colors in the pixel editor (monster AND background palettes) or in the game object editor, nothing happens. The palette window never pops ups...

It's weird because I remember having been able to edit them in the past. I tried restarting NESMaker, but it still doesn't work.

Am I missing something? Has anyone else got this issue?

Thanks!

EDIT: Nevermind. I was using left-click instead of right-click... :oops:
User avatar
BathtimeRyan
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 4:03 pm
Location: netherlands

Re: Can't change monster palette?

Post by BathtimeRyan » Tue May 12, 2020 5:28 pm

hope anyone sees this after a few months... i have a problem where i can choose wich palette i wanna use and everything but im not able to choose wich one it actually uses. the scroll bar thing is locked??
the only person in my school who knows what a NES is.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 5160
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Can't change monster palette?

Post by dale_coop » Tue May 12, 2020 5:32 pm

If it’s for your Game Objects, it’s normal because all the game objects use the palettes assigned to the « Player » object.

If it’s for monster objects... this is strange(Can you share a screenshot?)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
My son's game: KUBO 3
User avatar
BathtimeRyan
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 4:03 pm
Location: netherlands

Re: Can't change monster palette?

Post by BathtimeRyan » Tue May 12, 2020 5:43 pm

yeah the player palette is the one but what if i dont want to use it, im following a wednesday video for some guidance but joe was abled to change the palette used for that game object.
Attachments
the palette is "locked"
the palette is "locked"
Annotation 2020-05-12 194013.jpg (72.72 KiB) Viewed 352 times
the only person in my school who knows what a NES is.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 5160
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Can't change monster palette?

Post by dale_coop » Tue May 12, 2020 8:20 pm

To the player object you can assign two different sub palettes (one to sub1 and Another one to sub 2)
Then, for your game objects, you will be free to use either sub1 or sub2...
But those sub palettes are the ones assigned to the player objects
That’s all.
You can’t use a sub palette that is not assigned to the Player.m object.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
My son's game: KUBO 3
Post Reply