Instruments Must Be Well Defined

Post Reply
User avatar
nroflmao
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 3:07 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Instruments Must Be Well Defined

Post by nroflmao » Sat Oct 06, 2018 9:56 pm

I just spent a few hours troubleshooting why i couldn't import some FamiTracker files. It was complaining the file was bad. I found that it can be very sensitive to instruments even the ones you aren't using. I had some default instruments set up and happened to have some of the options checked (Volume, Pitch, etc) but they were defined with 0 size, and this seemed to give me an error when importing into NesMAKER even though I wasn't using the instruments.

It gave me two different errors due tot his, one was "verify that this is a valid file, the given key was not present in the dictionary"
and also "value cannot be null, parameter name: s"
User avatar
Artix
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:41 am
Location: Tampa, Floridas
Contact:

Re: Instruments Must Be Well Defined

Post by Artix » Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:06 am

I have been getting this error also. Anyone have any information on it?
User avatar
Artix
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:41 am
Location: Tampa, Floridas
Contact:

Re: Instruments Must Be Well Defined

Post by Artix » Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:50 am

SOLUTION! Thanks to everyone on the Facebook group for pointing these things out.

In Famitracker, go through each of your instruments and turn Arpeggio off if you are not actually using it. Not 100% sure if arpeggios work at all. But disabling it inside the instruments solved this for me.

Also, grab the newest version of NES maker. 4.1.1 should be live on the site by the time anyone reads this.

Battle on!
Artix
User avatar
CutterCross
Posts: 367
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:42 pm

Re: Instruments Must Be Well Defined

Post by CutterCross » Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:11 am

Artix wrote:
Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:50 am
SOLUTION! Thanks to everyone on the Facebook group for pointing these things out.

In Famitracker, go through each of your instruments and turn Arpeggio off if you are not actually using it. Not 100% sure if arpeggios work at all. But disabling it inside the instruments solved this for me.

Also, grab the newest version of NES maker. 4.1.1 should be live on the site by the time anyone reads this.

Battle on!
Artix
Arpeggio envelopes work just fine with NESmaker, starting from version 4.0 and beyond. I use them all the time in my soundtracks, and I've never had any import errors concerning them.
Music Man:
The Tower of Turmoil: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1348
When the Clock Hands Stall: viewtopic.php?f=51&t=2132
Post Reply