Player glitches out when height is set to 8

Post Reply
User avatar
SciNEStist
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 3:31 pm

Player glitches out when height is set to 8

Post by SciNEStist » Sat Jun 22, 2019 5:44 am

If the player asset is set to 8 (the current maximum), the game will not render them properly when testing in any emulator. Width doesn't seem to be an issue. 7 works fine as well.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 4100
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Player glitches out when height is set to 8

Post by dale_coop » Sat Jun 22, 2019 2:53 pm

Yep it's a known issue... You can't make bigger than 7.
And even in some cases, if you have a lot of frames in your animations. you may have glitch with objects bigger than 5 maybe.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
SciNEStist
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 3:31 pm

Re: Player glitches out when height is set to 8

Post by SciNEStist » Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:35 pm

I apologize, I didn't see any existing reports in a cursory search.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 4100
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Player glitches out when height is set to 8

Post by dale_coop » Wed Jun 26, 2019 8:22 am

SciNEStist wrote:
Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:35 pm
I apologize, I didn't see any existing reports in a cursory search.
No, don't apologize. I just wanted to say that, sadly, you right, you can't, there is an (old) issue, it is a limitation. And the devs know about it.

(I am aware that my english can sound like I am a asshole sometimes... sorry for that)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
SciNEStist
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 3:31 pm

Re: Player glitches out when height is set to 8

Post by SciNEStist » Mon Jul 01, 2019 7:14 am

So I begrudgingly dropped my character down to 7 sprites high by 6 wide, and it works much better. Problem now is that I can't get more than 3 frames of animation. the 4th frame always glitches out. Has anyone else ran into this?

Should we all be restricting ourselves to 4 X 2 sprites and lower for the time being?
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 4100
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Player glitches out when height is set to 8

Post by dale_coop » Mon Jul 01, 2019 7:37 am

I think, we are limited in the total of sprites used for each animation: number_of_sprites_per_frame x number_of_frames_per_animation.
(And maybe limited to total of sprites used for each animation type: number_of_sprites_per_frame x number_of_frames_per_animation x number_of_animations_per_animation_type)
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
Lentoli
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:52 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Player glitches out when height is set to 8

Post by Lentoli » Thu Aug 29, 2019 8:54 pm

this is a skyrim se and this effect is only visible if enb is on.
And after some tests its only happens when im indoors on the outside its not visible and its ok, so i dont know what cause it
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 4100
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Player glitches out when height is set to 8

Post by dale_coop » Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:11 am

It's known issue. Don't go further than 7 for height or width.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
Post Reply