Porting game from 4.0.11 to 4.1.5 wuuaahh

User avatar
Dirk
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 5:30 am

Porting game from 4.0.11 to 4.1.5 wuuaahh

Post by Dirk » Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:31 pm

Hi!

I'm trying to port my non scrolling game started with 4.0.11 to a scrolling version in 4.1.5.
I'm hitting road blocks left and right. It starts with the way my character jumps. In the new version I can't even bring my character to jump the same way, same height and he also displays the walking animation when he should show a falling animation. Or the falling animation doesn't stop he slides around after landing instead of changing to the walking animation until I stop pressing a direction button.

How did you port your game to 4.1.5? Did you manage get around the obstacles and it runs at least as good as in the old version?
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3617
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Porting game from 4.0.11 to 4.1.5 wuuaahh

Post by dale_coop » Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:59 pm

Updating a project from 4.0 to 4.1 is nt easy.
Personnaly, I'd suggest to finished your game in the version you started with. And for your future projects, you can go with the newer version.

In the 4.1.x , the JUMP is now set with user constants (in Project Settings > User Constants): JUMP_SPEED_HI and JUMP_SPEED_LO.
(And also GRAVITY_HI and GRAVITY_LO). Modify the default values to be closer to your 4.0.x gameplay feeling.

For animations, some strange results... I know some of animations are forced in the ExtraControllReadCode script. If you search on the forum you might find some informations about that.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
Dirk
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 5:30 am

Re: Porting game from 4.0.11 to 4.1.5 wuuaahh

Post by Dirk » Wed Jun 12, 2019 5:08 pm

Thank you! Do you know if I can transfer values from my old project to my new one and get the same result?

Thank you, I'll have a look at the ExtraControllReadCode script.

I'm not very far into my game. I mainly have my character with running, jumping, falling and hurt animations.
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3617
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Porting game from 4.0.11 to 4.1.5 wuuaahh

Post by dale_coop » Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:54 pm

For the jump... no, sorry I don't know, the values are not the same. So you will have to try yourself some values.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
Dirk
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 5:30 am

Re: Porting game from 4.0.11 to 4.1.5 wuuaahh

Post by Dirk » Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:02 pm

Okay, thank you. I'll try my best to recreate it.
User avatar
Dirk
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 5:30 am

Re: Porting game from 4.0.11 to 4.1.5 wuuaahh

Post by Dirk » Mon Jun 17, 2019 6:01 pm

Hi, I could somewhat recreate the speed, height and feel of my jumps.
I deleted my inputs and assigned the input scripts again. Now it looks nearly okay.
My problem is, that when my player jumps it changes from a jump to a falling animation, but when he reaches the ground he won't change his animation state to eg. walking to the right.
Does anyone know how I could change that?
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3617
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Porting game from 4.0.11 to 4.1.5 wuuaahh

Post by dale_coop » Mon Jun 17, 2019 6:27 pm

Don't know what could cause that...
Have you assigned the StartMoveLeft/Right? to the "HOLD" buttons?
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
Dirk
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 5:30 am

Re: Porting game from 4.0.11 to 4.1.5 wuuaahh

Post by Dirk » Mon Jun 17, 2019 6:48 pm

Yes I have.
I just saw that my idle animation doesn't animate. It just displays the first frame.
Do all my animations have to have the same number of frames?
User avatar
dale_coop
Posts: 3617
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:05 am
Location: France

Re: Porting game from 4.0.11 to 4.1.5 wuuaahh

Post by dale_coop » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:00 pm

For that idle animation, modify the script assigned the the "Extra Controll Script" element in your "Project Settings > Script Settings"...
At the end of the script, you should see the line:

Code: Select all

	ChangeObjectState #$00, #$04
Modify it like this:

Code: Select all

	LDA temp
	BEQ skipMainGameExtraInputControl
	ChangeObjectState #$00, #$04
Your animation should work now correctly.
-----
Sorry about my poor english
All I need: A Damn Fine Cup of Coffee
My games: PRESS START GAME / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE / UNDERGROUND ADVENTURE (Arcade version - Byte-Off-2019)
User avatar
Redherring32
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 2:48 pm
Location: Usa

Re: Porting game from 4.0.11 to 4.1.5 wuuaahh

Post by Redherring32 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:30 pm

These issues are exactly the reason I kept using 4.0.11 for the competition, I would've had to redo every last bit of my custom code if I switched to 4.1.x. (Which I definitely didn't have time for)
My current WIP game: Shadow: An Adventure In Monochrome, you can also find me over at the Community Discord.
Post Reply